Fly Fishing Spokane Area?

Prefer fly fishing? This is the forum for you.
Forum rules
Forum Post Guidelines: This Forum is rated “Family Friendly”. Civil discussions are encouraged and welcomed. Name calling, negative, harassing, or threatening comments will be removed and may result in suspension or IP Ban without notice. Please refer to the Terms of Service and Forum Guidelines post for more information. Thank you
Jay K
Warrant Officer

Fly Fishing Spokane Area?

Post by Jay K » Sat Apr 17, 2010 10:26 am

I'm new to fly fishing and was hoping to try some small stream/river wading/shore fly-fishing, but it appears to be quite a chore to find fish-able waters near Spokane. Are there any waters close by which, thus far, do not require the extra endorsement (as I'm not even certain I'll like fly-fishing) and you can fish from shore or wading? My understanding from reading various posts seems like most areas along the Spokane or Little Spokane are private property and you are also not allowed to wade. You're only allowed to float. Latah (Hangman) creek appears to be a dumping group, sigh...

I'm actually very interested in just trying small stream fishing in areas I can hike to - would Idaho be my best bet? Canada? I know that's no longer the Spokane area.

I guess I'll visit the local fly shops - Swedes comes to mind (is that the one on Maple? Ash?).

Appreciate any advice you can give me. I also checked out SpokaneFlyFishers club online. Like I mentioned, I'm a beginner and not even certain I'll like it, but just looking for rivers/creeks to try it out.

Lotech Joe
Commodore

RE:Fly Fishing Spokane Area?

Post by Lotech Joe » Sat Apr 17, 2010 8:37 pm