What I really do

For all of your non-fishing related conversations. If it's not about fishing, or you want to "test" the forum, post it here.
hewesfisher
Admiral

What I really do

Post by hewesfisher » Mon Mar 30, 2009 4:30 pm

I know I've been posting a lot in the boat forum about our new Hewescraft, and for the last several days it's been the focus of my attention just to get it in the water, but today I had to get back to the "real deal" and get some work done.

I'm a bodyman by trade and have been doing this kind of work for the past 6 years. In that time, I've earned my ASE Master certification as well as completed I-CAR training and certification. These are the two primary organizations that identify and establish repair standards in the collision repair industry.

I got laid off a little over two weeks ago, but that doesn't mean I can't still get some things done. I've had a project in my shop since early November, it's my brother's '90 Miata. It was here for some body work and a full repaint. I got it painted the week after my layoff, and have been working on "cutting and buffing" the past couple days in between applying Sharkhide on the new boat.

First step in the process is to de-nib, which means to sand down any small imperfections due to lint or small dirt particles that get in the clear coat. I went overboard with that since it's my brother's car, and took it one step further, and fully sanded the entire car, first with 1500 grit, then with 3000, and after that, started the buffing process.

Here's what it looked like after going over the whole car with 1500 grit...

After that, it gets another complete sanding with 3000 grit, notice the difference in the reflection of the light on the right side of the decklid vs the left. The right side has been sanded with 3000 and the left side only with 1500, you can see the difference...