Questions about camera tripod heads...

For all of your non-fishing related conversations. If it's not about fishing, or you want to "test" the forum, post it here.
The Quadfather
Rear Admiral One Star

Questions about camera tripod heads...

Post by The Quadfather » Wed Jul 31, 2013 4:32 pm

Does anybody out there have a working knowledge of the different types of tripod heads that are available to mount on a tripod? As I look into it, there seems to be a variety of heads. They seem to allow for different types of angle adjustment.

I am new to this. At first I thought all tripods just allowed the camera to be stable, and then rotate in cw/ccw rotation, or up/down. I am realizing that there are many crazy opportunities of angles, depending on the "Tripod head"

1. Should any basic tripod allow you to attach various different heads?
2. What head would you go with for most versatile angle arrangements?
3. Is there a standardized threading size on the bolt that comes off the tripod. So all these heads are kind of universal in the the threading attachment? ( Or is that a big problem?)

This would be for a GoPro Hero 2. I have the add-on "Tripod" mount. A flat circular piece which attaches to tripods via threaded bolt. If anyone is using a GoPro with a tripod,send me a PM and we can go over it.
( I will use it for a DSLR down the road, so that is something to keep in mind)

Thx.

Bodofish
Vice Admiral Three Stars

Re: Questions about camera tripod heads...

Post by Bodofish » Wed Jul 31, 2013 5:45 pm

I don't know about various tripods and their heads, everyone I've bought has come with a head and I'm pretty sure the standard non commercial threads are 1/4-20. I know some of the really big boys have bigger bolt size but you probably won't see one unless you're in a specialty shop. I did buy one with a ball mount swivel like a ram mount, it was good as long as the cam was light.