Saltwater, Sand And Equipment

Have questions about Saltwater areas, boats, gear or techniques? This is the place for them.
Forum rules
Forum Post Guidelines: This Forum is rated “Family Friendly”. Civil discussions are encouraged and welcomed. Name calling, negative, harassing, or threatening comments will be removed and may result in suspension or IP Ban without notice. Please refer to the Terms of Service and Forum Guidelines post for more information. Thank you
TrackerPro16
Commander

Saltwater, Sand And Equipment

Post by TrackerPro16 » Fri Oct 05, 2018 9:28 am

Early warning: This will be a bit of a griping session...
Spent extended periods fishing the coast from the shore this year for the first time. I have never fished saltwater before. I studied and asked questions locally and read online, watched videos, searched through articles on NFR. NOWHERE did anyone say ANYTHING about how sand will get EVERYWHERE and how fast everything will corrode. Good grief.
Trailered some equipment and left it on an oceanfront lot for a few months as we had some extended time spent close by. I could not believe how fast it rusted poorly plated fasteners and any bare spots on steel. I had thought about taking my freshwater boat and hitting some of the rivers but after talking to some of the locals about how far up the salt mixes with the fresh water, and you have to treat it the same as saltwater, I bagged that idea. Not to mention the salt in the air that gets into and on everything from wiring to, well, everything.