Lingcod Tackle Box

Have questions about Saltwater areas, boats, gear or techniques? This is the place for them.
Forum rules
Forum Post Guidelines: This Forum is rated “Family Friendly”. Civil discussions are encouraged and welcomed. Name calling, negative, harassing, or threatening comments will be removed and may result in suspension or IP Ban without notice. Please refer to the Terms of Service and Forum Guidelines post for more information. Thank you
bottombarrel
Petty Officer

Lingcod Tackle Box

Post by bottombarrel » Thu Feb 09, 2017 1:48 pm

Hi everyone, I am new to fishing for lings and I wanted to see if anyone had some advice on the basics to fill a tackle box for fishing for lings this summer. I will be fishing out of the deception pass area and I have fished for lings in the past when I lived in Oregon but it was always using a "6 grub with about 10oz of weight and that was it. I hear guys talk about using live bait here and sand dabs? is this a fairly common and effective way to fish them? Any advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks everyone!

salmonkiller
Petty Officer

Re: Lingcod Tackle Box

Post by salmonkiller » Thu Feb 09, 2017 2:19 pm

I picked a few of these up at Auburn Sports & Marine last season..... I Only went for lings one time down at Toliva Shoal and didnt have any luck, but I dont think anyone was catching fish that day.

I plan on trying them out at Neah Bay and San Juans this season. Should do much better in those marine areas.

But, i think catching sand dabs and using them as live bait would work best.

http://www.hogylures.com/sand-dab-softbait" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

bottombarrel
Petty Officer

Post by bottombarrel » Thu Feb 09, 2017 4:58 pm

Thanks! I will definitely check these out. I found something similar on amazon that I was looking at but they are only 3 inches. Seems small to me.

cxlumpy
Petty Officer

Post by cxlumpy » Thu Feb 09, 2017 6:30 pm