Fly Tying Robot

Post Fly patterns, photos and directions here
Marc Martyn
Rear Admiral Two Stars

Fly Tying Robot

Post by Marc Martyn » Wed Jan 19, 2011 8:08 pm

O.k., now I have seen everything. I wonder what the doctor won when he bet his colleagues he could tie a fly with his robot.[flapper]

http://hatchesmagazine.com/blogs/Hatche ... paign=1-19

MrLucky
Petty Officer

RE:Fly Tying Robot

Post by MrLucky » Fri Jan 21, 2011 10:29 pm

An awkward tie job, but cool that it was tied by a surgical robot.

On the other hand, if this robot can't tie a decent looking fly, then do I really want to let it do surgery on me?
There are two kinds of luck, and I got 'em both.

Rooscooter
Warrant Officer

Post by Rooscooter » Sat Feb 12, 2011 4:36 pm

The DaVinci and it's counterpart Zeus are amazing machines. In my capacity as an Architect I've had the opportunity to design several hospitals abroad that have installs of one or both platforms. They can perform most "routine" surgeries as well as some of the more complicated ones. Tying a fly isn't what they are programmed for however if the person on the other end can tie a decent fly the robot end should as well.

These machines perform needed surgeries in outlying areas of the world as well as in rural areas of the US. As you can imagine they are very expensive and they require a very sophisticated communications and power system. The room and infrastructure for one of these can cost over 1 Million easily and the machine another 1.5 to 2 Million.
Last edited by Anonymous on Sat Feb 12, 2011 4:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Marc Martyn
Rear Admiral Two Stars

Post by Marc Martyn » Sat Feb 12, 2011 4:59 pm