Smoking salmon problem

Discuss your favorite recipes and fish eating ways...
motorek
Petty Officer

Smoking salmon problem

Post by motorek » Sat Nov 21, 2009 8:13 pm

I am new to smoking fish. I smoked pink salmon, which I cough in the salt, and I also recently smoked coho salmon. What I have found is that my smoked salmon is much drier comparing to store-bought smoked salmon. I use a receipt from salmon university and my salmon was paper dry, and when I bought some smoked salmon from the market, it was very juicy and full of oil. My assumption is that either the fish from market have some extra added oil or they are higher quality Alaskan salmon, and full of natural oils. Am I doing something wrong, is it my smoker, my technique? I am using a simple smoker without automatic temperature regulation. I just simply leave the door open to decrease the temperature.

Any opinions?

Kfedka
Commander

RE:Smoking salmon problem

Post by Kfedka » Sat Nov 21, 2009 9:22 pm

What model/make smoker are you using?

If your fish taste too dry I think it could be one of two things. First you are leaving it to long in the smoker, so the fishing is dried instead of smoked, or second prior to putting the fish in the smoker after brining it you are drying it out to long.

Dave
Commodore

Post by Dave » Sat Nov 21, 2009 11:35 pm

Just a guess but it may be that your smoker is a bit too hot. I smoke at about 160 degrees or so for about 3.5 hours. I also rinse my salmon fillets in cold water and pat them dry after brining and before smoking. Let us know how your next batch turns out.

Blackmouth
Lieutenant

Post by Blackmouth » Sun Nov 22, 2009 1:11 am

Brine longer smoke slower....

racfish
Rear Admiral Two Stars

Post by racfish » Sun Nov 22, 2009 8:36 am