Bilge pump

Talk about your boats, trailers, and boating specific topics here. Sponsored by Life Proof Boats.
johnsgonefishin
Petty Officer

Bilge pump

Post by johnsgonefishin » Wed Oct 12, 2011 3:14 pm

I am new to boating, bought my 14foot starcraft SF about a year ago. I just bought a 1500gph bilge pump for it mainly because it takes on water when the electric trolling motor is on the transom and I am planing with the gas motor, or sometimes in heavy water like 2-3 foot rollers. I am hooking it up with a switch and bought a 5 foot hose for it and clamped it on.

My big question is, do I just run this over the transom or do I drill some type of hole or is there a device that goes in my drain hole I can connect it to that wont let water in but will push it out when I flip the switch. I know this is probably a pretty stupid question but I have looked all over the internet and cannot figure out what haul- through pipe things are or if it would work through my drain hole. I am kinda hesitant to drill a hole in the side of the boat or the transom. None of my friends have bilge pumps so they really do not know.

Amx
Vice Admiral Three Stars

Re: Bilge pump

Post by Amx » Wed Oct 12, 2011 3:19 pm

Run it over the side, will work great.

Or drill a hole just under the top of the gunnel. You can get a thru-side fitting from Bass Pro Shops, Cabellas and your local boating store.
Tom.

Interests: living

wdavis10
Petty Officer

Post by wdavis10 » Thu Oct 13, 2011 6:00 pm

how about some wire ties and attatch to motor, you can also apply some screw in type wire clamps and run them up high - leave your drain hole alone

johnsgonefishin
Petty Officer

Post by johnsgonefishin » Thu Oct 13, 2011 6:19 pm