float tube fishing

Lake fishing topics and discussions belong in this forum. Please, don't post reports in the forum.
Forum rules
Forum Post Guidelines: This Forum is rated “Family Friendly”. Civil discussions are encouraged and welcomed. Name calling, negative, harassing, or threatening comments will be removed and may result in suspension or IP Ban without notice. Please refer to the Terms of Service and Forum Guidelines post for more information.
gpsposato
Angler

float tube fishing

Post by gpsposato » Tue May 15, 2007 8:15 am

Where can I find info on float tube fishing in lakes? I have never done it before but would like to try? Besides the tube, waders, and life preserver, what else would I need? THanks!

raffensg64
Commander

RE:float tube fishing

Post by raffensg64 » Tue May 15, 2007 8:29 am

Fishing rod of your choice (of course) and a small anchor with at least 30 feet of rope. Nothing sucks more than finding an area that's holding lots of fish but being unable to stay on them during a windy day! And don't forget your fins or you'll be going nowhere fast!

GJorgy
Warrant Officer

Post by GJorgy » Tue May 15, 2007 10:28 am

I have a belly boat and a pontoon boat. I would go with the pontoon anytime. Has oars or you can use fins. More storage room on the pontoon also (has a back deck). Little more expensive but I stay drier (back splash into the waders always wakes you up!). An anchor is essential! Hope you have fun and stay as dry as possible.
George Patton:"Live for something rather than die for nothing."

gpc
Admiral

Post by gpc » Tue May 15, 2007 10:50 am

The best place to take them is the selsctive gear lakes. Most selective gear lakes dont allow motors (if not all). Ive seen guys hike acouple miles into selective fisheries with float tubes on their back. They always do better than the bank fisherman

bpm2000
Captain

Post by bpm2000 » Tue May 15, 2007 11:07 am

http://www.bigfishtackle.com/cgi-bin/gf ... t=34244438