Dick Nite Lures

Talk all about trout here.
Forum rules
Forum Post Guidelines: This Forum is rated “Family Friendly”. Civil discussions are encouraged and welcomed. Name calling, negative, harassing, or threatening comments will be removed and may result in suspension or IP Ban without notice. Please refer to the Terms of Service and Forum Guidelines post for more information. Thank you
herefishy
Petty Officer

Dick Nite Lures

Post by herefishy » Mon Mar 07, 2016 7:31 pm

I am new to trolling and fishing with lures. I have tried a few different types but did not have any luck. I am currently trolling with a wedding ring with a worm and have had some success but was told to try Dick Nite lures for better results. I am fishing for trout. I went to their website and was overwhelmed with all the different colors. Which ones would be the best to try?

Thanks,
Janet

Bobberdownchromer
Warrant Officer

Re: Dick Nite Lures

Post by Bobberdownchromer » Mon Mar 07, 2016 7:51 pm

I love their frog pattern and their 50/50. All dick nites work but those are my two favorite.

JoshH
Lieutenant

Post by JoshH » Mon Mar 07, 2016 9:53 pm

X2 on the 50/50. I've trolled them with just a small weight and even clipped to a downrigger, behind a small gang troll, tipped with a worm, egg, grub, dipped in scent etc. Very versatile lure. Just have to mess around a bit to find out how the fish want it. I usually start off with it bare, no scent, worm etc. If the fish aren't liking that, I will start adding to it til I find what initiates a strike.

One thing I;ve found with Dick Nite's is they work better trolling 1.5mph and under it seems. You want it to flutter in the water. If you are going to fast it will tend to spin or do a fast roll, which you don't want. If you don't have a way to guage your speed watch the lure along side the boat and slow down til you get a nice flutter with it.

G-Man
Admiral

Post by G-Man » Mon Mar 07, 2016 10:03 pm