Planning A Salmon Trip

A place for readers to talk about river fishing in Washington.
Forum rules
Forum Post Guidelines: This Forum is rated “Family Friendly”. Civil discussions are encouraged and welcomed. Name calling, negative, harassing, or threatening comments will be removed and may result in suspension or IP Ban without notice. Please refer to the Terms of Service and Forum Guidelines post for more information. Thank you
MattL
Angler

Planning A Salmon Trip

Post by MattL » Wed Jun 28, 2017 4:00 pm

Hey guys. Total newbie here.

I live in California (sorry about that) and am planning a salmon fishing trip with a friend who lives in Sedro-Woolley. I'm a salmon guide up in Alaska some summers so know what I'm doing technically, but am flying completely blind when it comes to the fisheries in WA. My buddy has zero fishing experience so here I am asking for advice.

Basically, I would just like to get my friend on fish. Edible pinks would be totally adequate. I also have an affinity for C&R Chum fishing, and obviously if there are Coho in that area I'd like to meet them.

Any pointers on when and where I can find salmon in numbers big enough for my friend to get something on the bank? From what I gather, the lower Skagit is the best salmon fishery in the area.

Thank you in advance for any input.

Amx
Vice Admiral Three Stars

Re: Planning A Salmon Trip

Post by Amx » Wed Jun 28, 2017 4:09 pm

Maybe your best bet would be to hire a local guide. As YOU know, knowing HOW to do it is one thing, knowing WHERE to do it is another.
Tom.

Interests: living

MattL
Angler

Post by MattL » Wed Jun 28, 2017 4:42 pm

Absolutely, that would be the shortest distance between two points. Guides are pretty expensive though and we don't have a ton of money, so if I can get us part of the way there on my own that'll be preferable.

Jakefish
Warrant Officer

Post by Jakefish » Wed Jun 28, 2017 7:43 pm

I sent you a pm . . .

riverhunter
Commander