Prefer fly fishing? This is the forum for you.
Forum rules
Forum Post Guidelines: This Forum is rated “Family Friendly”. Civil discussions are encouraged and welcomed. Name calling, negative, harassing, or threatening comments will be removed and may result in suspension or IP Ban without notice. Please refer to the Terms of Service and Forum Guidelines post for more information. Thank you
THester
Petty Officer

Post by THester » Mon Mar 05, 2012 6:01 pm

This is my first year fly fishing, and living in the tri cities, when is a good time to start fishing the rivers, lakes, or ponds? Ive heard the yakima can be good for bass, but what about steelhead around here? Plus when are prime times?

fullybuilt2.0
Petty Officer

Re: Newbie

Post by fullybuilt2.0 » Tue Mar 06, 2012 9:03 pm

Ice off is a good time to start. I try to fly fish all year long but I also love ice fishing. I not from that area so I couldn't tell you where to start. Maybe someone from that area could! GL

THester
Petty Officer

Post by THester » Tue Mar 06, 2012 9:39 pm

Do you fish deep though with a sinking tip or a floating line?

fullybuilt2.0
Petty Officer

Post by fullybuilt2.0 » Tue Mar 06, 2012 9:59 pm

It just depends! I have a float line but can still fish 10-15 ft deep with enough weight on the end and depending on the length of you leader too. If you really want to fish deep its best if you use a sink tip line. The problem with using sink tip is that you won't be able to dry fly. Will you could be it'll just be a headache. Its best if you have a couple of extra spools so you can have best of both worlds.

THester
Petty Officer

Post by THester » Tue Mar 06, 2012 10:03 pm

What kind of water would I look for right now? Current? Slack? Water is 40 degrees

fullybuilt2.0
Petty Officer

Post by fullybuilt2.0 » Tue Mar 06, 2012 10:04 pm