New to bass fishing please help?

An area to discuss your Bassin' adventures.
Forum rules
Forum Post Guidelines: This Forum is rated “Family Friendly”. Civil discussions are encouraged and welcomed. Name calling, negative, harassing, or threatening comments will be removed and may result in suspension or IP Ban without notice. Please refer to the Terms of Service and Forum Guidelines post for more information. Thank you
Skunkedtoomuch
Petty Officer

New to bass fishing please help?

Post by Skunkedtoomuch » Sun Jul 06, 2014 1:55 pm

Hi my name is Nick.
I'm new to bass fishing and haven't had any luck the last 4 Saturdays. Been fishing flowing and pine lake. Mostly using spinnerbaits and shallow crankbaits. Tried plastic Texas rigged worms as well. Really focusing around the docks. Hooked into one today one a white strikeking spinnerbait about 7 ft out from a dock, but lost him a few ft from the boat. I use a baitcaster. I'm just looking for any tips or advice. My buddy told me to try night crawlers and toss them around the docks and let them sink slow. I like using a crankbait and spinnerbait, but obv haven't been successful yet. I really don't know what depth to fish or where to target bass this time of yr. Thank you for any help.
Last edited by Skunkedtoomuch on Sun Jul 06, 2014 2:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Amx
Vice Admiral Three Stars

Re: New to bass fishing please help?

Post by Amx » Sun Jul 06, 2014 2:06 pm

DON'T use live bait/night crawlers, it'll kill the fish when they swallow the worm and hook. Then when they fight the line the hook can tear up the stomach and they'll die. We try to release most all big bass so they can reproduce. And there is a slot limit on Largemouth, and a max number of fish that can be kept that are over 17" for Largies, and 14" FOR sMALLIES. Most Bass fishermen only use artificial lures.

Now for the needed info;